2013 National Indigenous Music Awards Winners

11 August, 2013

Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen, winners of last year's Music in Communities Awards, have been acknowledged again in this year's National Indigenous Music Awards. Their song 'Waliwaliyangu li Anthawirriyarra a Kurija (Saltwater People Song)' was awarded Song of the Year while Shellie Morris received the G.R. Burarrawanga Memorial Award for NT artists. 

The Traditional Music Award was presented to Wandawuy, The Mulka Manikay Archives.

A new award for NT Community Clip of the Year acknowledges the role that music and new media plays in spreading positive messages throughout indigenous communities. It was won by the Rockhole community for its video of the song 'Rockhole', made in partnership with the Wurli - Wurlinjang Health Service and Indigenous Hip Hop Projects. The award for NT School Band of the Year was received by Rulku Band from Milingimbi (pictured), who performed at the high profile awards ceremony in Darwin.

Jessica Mauboy and Thelma Plum received two of the major awards, National Artist of the Year and New Talent of the Year respectively. Archie Roach received three awards for his album Bloodstream (National Album of the Year, Cover Art of the Year, and Film Clip of the Year for Song to Sing), and was inducted into the NIMA Hall of Fame alongside Henry 'Seaman' Dan and Wirrinyga Band from Milingimbi, NT.

A broadcast of the event, which included a tribute to Yothu Yindi, can be see on NITV, Saturday 17th of August 2013 at 8.30pm.

The NIMAs are presented by Music NT: www.musicnt.com.au

Rulku win School Band of the Year2013 National Indigenous Music Awards - Full list of  winners

National Artist of the Year: Jessica Mauboy

National Album of the Year: Into the Bloodstream - Archie Roach

National Song of the Year: 'Waliwaliyangu li-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song)' - Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen

National New Talent of the Year: Thelma Plum

National Cover Art of the Year: Into the Bloodstream - Archie Roach. Designed by Jacob Tolo, Original Painting by Robert Lowe Senior.

National Film Clip of the Year: 'Song to Sing' - Archie Roach. Co-Directors - David Vadiveloo / Community Prophets & Natasha Gadd / Daybreak Films

G.R. Burarrawanga Memorial Award: Shellie Morris

NT Community Clip of the Year: Rockhole Community, 'Rockhole' produced by IHHP for Wurli - Wurlinjang Health Service

NT School Band of the Year: Rulku

NT Traditional Music Award of the Year: Wandawuy - The Mulka Manikay Archives

NIMA Hall of Fame: Archie Roach, Henry 'Seaman' Dan, Wirrinyga Band, Milingimbi

NIMA Special Recognition Award: Gurrumul Yunupingu